Significance of Information – Project brief

This week we received our brief for our main project we will be undertaking for the last 3 weeks of our field project.

Our brief is to develop an outcome using information that we perceive to be significant. Be it a moment in history that we find inspiring, something personal such as your own music collection, or a documentation of a social issue such as Emmeline Pankhursts’ struggle for the women’s suffrage.  Our outcomes must communicate effectively to a specified audience and our concept will be negotiated through group critique, peer and tutor discussion throughout these next few weeks. The context of our outcome is up to us, it could be a book, moving image, installation and so on.

My immediate reaction to this brief was one of intimidation, simply because it is so open and literally could pretty much be anything we want it to be, when I first read the brief my head went blank and I had no ideas. However over this week I have been researching on topics that I think are of significances, and once I had done this and collated a few idea’s the brief didn’t seem quite so daunting. I wanted my project to be based on information that is important and relevant to the current climate in society.

I had two main idea’s for the topic that I wanted to base this project on:

  1. Animal rights
    In particular the rights of animals in captivity, I did a lot of research on how animals in zoo’s have been ‘put down’ due to human stupidity. For example, at Cincinnati Zoo, when a Gorilla was shot and killed because a 3 year old boy climbed into it’s enclosure. Also, a less recent story at a Chilean zoo, when a suicidal man jumped into a tiger enclosure resulting in two tigers being shot dead and the man surviving.
  2. Protesting
    When scrolling through the trends on twitter there was one entitled ‘How to Protest’, which I thought was relevant because of all the recent protests such as the protests against Donald Trump’s travel ban and also the Women’s Marches. Protesting is something that’ll always be relevant and happening in society, so I thought it could be interesting to look at how you actually protest.

After going in today for our first group tutorial for this project and telling the group my idea’s for the topic, I have decided to focus my project on Protesting. We discussed how I could almost create a starter pack for protesters, teaching them how to protest and so on. Now that I have a set idea and a context I am very excited to proceed with this project and see what comes out of it.

Leave a Reply

